With the Izzy Award set to celebrate its 13th year, award nominations are now open for work produced in the calendar year 2020.

The annual honor for outstanding achievement in independent media — named after legendary journalist I. F. “Izzy” Stone — is presented by the Park Center for Independent Media (PCIM) at Ithaca College.

This year’s Izzy Award will be given for work published, broadcast or posted and distributed in 2020 by an independent media outlet, journalist or producer. The award may relate to a single piece or a body of work, in recognition of original research, uncovering facts and quality of writing and/or production. Journalists, academics and the public at large may submit nominations by the midnight ET deadline on Friday, February 12, 2021. The winner will be announced early next spring, with an award ceremony to follow in April 2021.

Nominations should be submitted via a brief email (250 words or less) that includes supporting web links (no more than four) and/or attached materials to Brandy Hawley at bhawley@ithaca.edu.

“The year 2020 was tumultuous to say the least and many voices in independent media not only informed the public but presented credible alternative discourse to the American public,” said PCIM director Raza Rumi. “This year our judges will honor the tradition of speaking truth to power especially in times of pandemic, protest and polarization.”

For more information on the Izzy Award and the PCIM, visit www.parkindymedia.org.

Izzy Award recipients are chosen by a panel of independent judges with expertise in independent media. Past winners include Amy Goodman, Jeremy Scahill, Naomi Klein, John Carlos Frey, Glenn Greenwald, Todd Miller, Matt Taibbi and independent news sources such as City Limits, Earth Island Journal and Mother Jones.

Launched in 2008 and located within Ithaca College’s Roy H. Park School of Communications, the Park Center for Independent Media is a national center focusing on media outlets that create and distribute content outside traditional corporate systems and news organizations.