On April 5, Democracy Now! host Amy Goodman announced the recipients of the 2022 Izzy Award. This annual award “for outstanding achievement in independent media” is named after dissident journalist I.F. Stone.

This year’s Izzy will be shared by nonprofit newsrooms The City in New York, as well as Chicago’s Better Government Association and Block Club Chicago. These outlets won for “exposing corruption that harmed low-income residents of those cities.” Independent journalist Jenni Monet is being recognized for her weekly newsletter “Indigenously: Decolonizing Your Newsfeed.” And the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists won an Izzy for its Pandora Papers investigation exposing how the world’s richest hide their money and avoid paying taxes. 

Read more about the winners here.