The judges of the Izzy Award have extended the deadline for nominations until February 9 at midnight EST.

The award celebrates its 14th year in 2022, and PCIM will again grant this honor — named after legendary journalist I. F. “Izzy” Stone — for outstanding achievement in independent media.

Submissions are welcome for work produced in 2021 by independent media outlets or individual journalists or producers who publish their work through their own sites or those of independent outlets. Journalists, academics, and the public at large may offer nominations until the extended February 9 deadline.

Nominations should include 250 words or less explaining why the entry is worthy of consideration, and should include supporting web links (no more than four) and/or attached materials. Send submissions to Raza Rumi, director of PCIM, at

Keep in mind that work published or broadcast by a mainstream, commercial, or conglomerated media outlet is not eligible, including if it was produced by a nonprofit/independent journalism organization. Work produced by a nonprofit/independent journalism organization and published or broadcast by an independent, non-commercial, non-conglomerated media outlet is eligible.

Izzy Award recipients are chosen by a panel of independent judges with expertise in independent media. Past winners include Amy Goodman, Jeremy Scahill, Naomi Klein, John Carlos Frey, Todd Miller, Laura Flanders, Sharif Abdel Kouddous and independent news sources such as City Limits, Earth Island Journal and Inside Climate News. Last year’s award went to journalists Liliana Segura and Tim Schwab and nonprofit outlet Truthout.