The Izzy Award will celebrate its 14th year this spring, and nominations are officially open for work produced during the calendar year 2021.

PCIM will again grant this honor — named after legendary journalist I. F. “Izzy” Stone — for outstanding achievement in independent media. This year’s award will go to an independent media outlet or individual journalist or producer who publishes their work through their own site or that of an independent outlet.

Note that work published or broadcast by a mainstream, commercial, or conglomerated media outlet is not eligible — including if it was produced by a nonprofit/independent journalism organization. Work produced by a nonprofit/independent journalism organization and published or broadcast by an independent, non-commercial, non-conglomerated media outlet is eligible.

Journalists, academics, and the public at large may submit nominations until midnight EST on Wednesday, February 2, 2022. The winner will be announced early next spring, with an award ceremony to follow in April 2022.

Nominations should include 250 words or less explaining why the entry is worthy of consideration. They should include supporting web links (no more than four) and/or attached materials. Send submissions to Raza Rumi, director of PCIM, at

Izzy Award recipients are chosen by a panel of independent judges with expertise in independent media. Past winners include Amy Goodman, Jeremy Scahill, Naomi Klein, John Carlos Frey, Todd Miller, Laura Flanders, Sharif Abdel Kouddous and independent news sources such as City Limits, Earth Island Journal and Inside Climate News. Last year’s award went to journalists Liliana Segura and Tim Schwab and nonprofit outlet Truthout.