

## **Coordinating Committee Criteria**

- Candidates commit to attend committee meetings/calls every two weeks for approximately one hour. In practice, during the past year meetings were held approximately once per month.
- Coordinating committee members should be members of senior leadership of participating (voting) member organizations who have been approved as candidates by their organizations.

The Coordinating Committee is to help us reflect a diverse mix of ethnicity, media platforms, gender, and editorial/business responsibilities.

Since the Consortium is nested inside the 501(c)(3) Foundation for National Progress, The Media Consortium Coordinating Committee is not a full-fledged formal board of directors, but it does perform many of the functions usually associated with one: program and budget planning and review, oversight of Consortium staff and contractors, policy setting and strategic thinking, and volunteer leadership.

## Below are the nominations for the 2008. There are currently 13 slots available. Regardless of the number of committee-nominated candidates, floor nominations are welcomed. Our nominees are:

Julie Berman Sender, Balcony Films Lark Corbeil, Public News Service Ann Friedman, The American Prospect \* Andrew Golis, Talking Points Memo \* Jay Harris, Mother Jones Don Hazen, AlterNet Carol Jenkins, Women's Media Center \* Linda Jue, New Voices in Independent Journalism \* Steve Katz, Mother Jones \* Roberto Lovato, New America Media Rinku Sen, ColorLines \* John Schwartz, Free Speech TV Kathy Spillar, Ms. Magazine Kim Spencer, Link TV (\* marks new nominees)

Given that the Media Consortium has matured as on organization, this year we propose that Coordinating Committee members serve for staggered terms of either one or two years.