Izzy Award 2018

The 10th annual Izzy Award was presented April 24, 2018 to four investigative journalists who published path-breaking and in-depth reporting in 2017 that exposed political corruption, environmental hazards and militarism: investigative reporter LEE FANG of The Intercept; Investigative Fund reporting fellow and Intercept journalist SHARON LERNERTruthout staff reporter DAHR JAMAIL; and TODD MILLER, author of “Storming the Wall: Climate Change, Migration and Homeland Security.”

In accepting their awards at the ceremony in Ithaca College’s Emerson Suites, the honorees spoke about their work, thanking the various independent media organizations that made their work possible. In announcing the award recipients, the Izzy judges commented: “Their breakthrough coverage is made possible by non-corporate outlets such as The Intercept, Truthout and TomDispatch.com, resources such as The Nation Institute’s Investigative Fund, and publishers like City Lights Books.”